FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Carbon dioxide is known as a greenhouse gas that can cause harm damage to the environment when concentrated in high levels. Because vehicles emissions contribute significant amounts of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, new laws now require the majority of cars on the road to be have a smog check at least once every 2 years. Although there are a few exceptions, most vehicles qualify for annual inspection under this law.
Is 6th St. and MacArthur Smog Check near me?
6th St. and MacArthur is conveniently located in Tracy, Ca and offers smog checks to customers in Tracy, Mountain House, Lathrop and Manteca.
Does my vehicle qualify for a smog exemption?
Smog inspections are required unless your vehicle is:
Gasoline powered 1975 year model or older
Diesel powered 1997 year model and older or with a Gross Vehicle Weight rating (GVWR) of more than 14,000 lbs
Natural gas powered with a GVWR rating of more than 14,000 lbs.
What is a STAR station?
The new STAR Program began January 1, 2013, and replaced the Gold Shield and Test Only program. If your DMV registration renewal notice states your vehicle requires a smog check at a STAR station.
What are Test Only stations?
Test-Only stations are licensed by the state only to perform tests on vehicles. They are prohibited from performing any repair services. Gross Polluters can also be certified at these stations. In addition, potentially high-polluting vehicles in the state’s smoggiest regions are directed to these stations for their initial Smog Check inspections, as specified on the Department of Motor Vehicles registration renewal form.
Who requires a smog check?
1. The Department of Motor Vehicles renewal notice will indicate whether a Smog Check is required to re- register your vehicle.
2. Most areas of the state require vehicles to have a Smog Check performed every two years, when being sold, and when being initially registered in California. These areas are referred to as the state’s Basic and Enhanced Areas. However, Change of Ownership Areas only require a Smog Check when the vehicle is being sold or initially registered in California.
California DMV Smog Requirements
Currently, smog inspections are required for all vehicles, except: diesel powered vehicles 1997 year model and older or with a Gross Vehicle Weight (GVWR) of more than 14,000 lbs, electric, natural gas powered vehicles over 14,000lbs, hybrids, motorcycles, trailers, and gasoline powered vehicles 1975 and older.
Vehicles registered in areas subject to the biennial smog certification program are required to submit evidence of a smog certification every other renewal period. Owners of vehicles 6 or less model years old will pay an annual smog abatement fee for the first 6 registration years instead of being required to provide a biennial smog certification. The registration renewal notice mailed to you by the department will indicate if a smog certification is required. If a smog certification is required and you have not had a smog inspection, you may still pay your registration fees to avoid any late fees. However, you will not receive your new registration or year sticker until the smog information has been received by DMV.
NOTE: Upon initial registration, nonresident;
Diesel powered vehicles 1998 model year and newer with a (GVWR) rating of no more than 14,000 lbs, and specially constructed vehicles 1976 and newer require smog certification. The 6 or less model years old rule does not apply to these vehicles.
Hybrid Vehicles require a smog certification
When you transfer a vehicle that is 4 or less model years old a smog certification is not required. (Determine the oldest-qualifying year model by subtracting three from the current year.) The 4 or less model years old rule does not apply to diesel powered vehicles. A smog transfer fee will be collected from the new owner . When a vehicle is more than four model years old, a seller must provide evidence of a current smog certification except when one of the following occurs:
The transfer occurs between a spouse, domestic partner, sibling, child, parent, grandparent, or grandchild.
A biennial smog certification was submitted to DMV within 90 days prior to the vehicle transfer date (a vehicle inspection report may be required for proof of certification).
Smog certifications are good for 90 days from the date of issuance.
493 E 6th St j, Tracy, CA 95376
Sunday - Closed